A mobile phone forum. Mobile-Forum

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Mobile-Forum forum » General mobile phone forums » GSM
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

CDMA and WCDMA?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 4th 04, 12:47 AM
Scott Ehrlich
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default CDMA and WCDMA?


I've read in some of these newsgroups that GSM is moving to, or being
enhanced with WCDMA technology. What does WCDMA entail, and how does it
compare with CDMA? Will it permit users of GSM/WCDMA phones to roam to
CDMA carriers, and/or vice-versa?

I've done some cursory google searching of cdma and wcdma but could not
find anything that made enough sense to me.

Looking to be educated in these two worlds of CDMA and WCDMA.

Thank you.

Scott
  #2  
Old December 4th 04, 05:09 AM
Vlad Andreyev
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You can't roam with a CDMA phone on a WCDMA network or vice-versa. For a
starting point, go to www.gsmworld.com and browse the Wireless Evolution
section.

--

\/ L /\ D


"Scott Ehrlich" wrote in message
...

I've read in some of these newsgroups that GSM is moving to, or being
enhanced with WCDMA technology. What does WCDMA entail, and how does it
compare with CDMA? Will it permit users of GSM/WCDMA phones to roam to
CDMA carriers, and/or vice-versa?

I've done some cursory google searching of cdma and wcdma but could not
find anything that made enough sense to me.

Looking to be educated in these two worlds of CDMA and WCDMA.

Thank you.

Scott


  #3  
Old December 4th 04, 05:31 AM
Philip
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Vlad Andreyev wrote:
You can't roam with a CDMA phone on a WCDMA network or vice-versa.
For a starting point, go to www.gsmworld.com and browse the
Wireless Evolution section.


Is this the point?:

http://www.gsmworld.com/technology/3g/intro.shtml
" No other standard offers the flexible combination of voice and data
performance and capacity delivered by 3GSM underpinned by Wideband-CDMA. No
other standard is as open as 3GSM. No other standard delivers the economies
of scale and competitiveness for operators and vendors. "


http://www.cdmatech.com/resources/glossary_full.jsp


  #4  
Old December 4th 04, 06:47 PM
CharlesH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In article ,
Vlad Andreyev wrote:
You can't roam with a CDMA phone on a WCDMA network or vice-versa. For a
starting point, go to www.gsmworld.com and browse the Wireless Evolution
section.


CDMA2000, which, for example, Verizon Wireless and SprintPCS use,
is a completely different protocol than WCDMA, which is the migration
path for GSM systems. They use the same underlying concept or multiple
users sharing the same frequency band using spread-spectrum techniques,
but how they do it is completely different. Totally different "languages".

  #5  
Old December 5th 04, 04:31 AM
John Phillips
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sat, 04 Dec 2004 22:07:43 -0500, SinghaLvr wrote:

Do you ever see Sprint/Verizon migrating to GSM/WCDMA?


IMO that would never happen.

Isn't their unique selling point the alleged superiority of CDMA over GSM?

Clear reception, etc, blah, blah, blah.


  #6  
Old December 5th 04, 05:39 AM
Paul remove-the-nospam Day
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In alt.cellular.gsm SinghaLvr wrote:
Finally someone can explain this! :-)

Do you ever see Sprint/Verizon migrating to GSM/WCDMA?


Doubt it. They've invested so much money in their CDMA2000x1 network.
The obvious migraqtion path to 3G/high bandwidth mobile is to upgrade to
CDMA EV-DO. For a lot of their cells I'd assume it's merely a software
upgrade.

PD

--
Paul Day Web: www.bur.st/~paul GPG Key ID: 7FF655A8
  #7  
Old December 5th 04, 04:16 PM
IMHO
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In ,
Joseph typed:
On Sat, 4 Dec 2004 22:07:43 -0500, SinghaLvr
wrote:

On Sat, 4 Dec 2004 13:47:05 -0500, CharlesH wrote
(in article ):

Subject: CDMA and WCDMA?
From: lid (CharlesH)
Date: Today 1:47 PM
Newsgroups: alt.cellular.verizon, alt.cellular.cdma,
alt.cellular.gsm

In article ,
Vlad Andreyev wrote:
You can't roam with a CDMA phone on a WCDMA network or vice-versa.
For a starting point, go to
www.gsmworld.com and browse the
Wireless Evolution section.

CDMA2000, which, for example, Verizon Wireless and SprintPCS use,
is a completely different protocol than WCDMA, which is the
migration path for GSM systems. They use the same underlying
concept or multiple users sharing the same frequency band using
spread-spectrum techniques, but how they do it is completely
different. Totally different "languages".


Finally someone can explain this! :-)

Do you ever see Sprint/Verizon migrating to GSM/WCDMA?


It never will happen. 2G CDMA's migration path is to CDMA2000 not
W-CDMA.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


VZW, Sprint, Alltel, etc which started with CDMA can upgrade their networks
to CDMA2000 incrementally since the upgrades are compatable with current
equipment.

Converting from TDMA to GSM and then from GSM to WCMA requires new equipment
for each upgrade.


  #8  
Old December 6th 04, 01:00 AM
IMHO
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In news Joseph typed:
On Sun, 5 Dec 2004 10:16:48 -0600, "IMHO" wrote:

VZW, Sprint, Alltel, etc which started with CDMA can upgrade their
networks to CDMA2000 incrementally since the upgrades are compatable
with current equipment.

Converting from TDMA to GSM and then from GSM to WCMA requires new
equipment for each upgrade.


I know you're trying to make a point, but what is it?

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


TDMA, GSM & WCDMA are three different systems all requiring different
equipment.

CDMA thru CDMA2000 are compatable with each other - transparent to users.


  #9  
Old December 6th 04, 02:03 AM
Scott Ehrlich
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In article ,
Joseph wrote:
On Sun, 5 Dec 2004 10:16:48 -0600, "IMHO" wrote:

VZW, Sprint, Alltel, etc which started with CDMA can upgrade their networks
to CDMA2000 incrementally since the upgrades are compatable with current
equipment.

Converting from TDMA to GSM and then from GSM to WCMA requires new equipment
for each upgrade.


I know you're trying to make a point, but what is it?


I think their point is in the former case, the CDMA CDMA2000 upgrade is
cheaper because the infrastructure for CDMA2000 is easier to implement
with what already exists for CDMA, whereas, in the latter case TDMA GSM
involves a complete change of everything, and the same from GSM to WCDMA.

Please correct me if I am wrong.

Scott
  #10  
Old December 6th 04, 05:27 AM
David S
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sun, 5 Dec 2004 19:00:00 -0600, "IMHO" chose to add
this to the great equation of life, the universe, and everything:

In news Joseph typed:
On Sun, 5 Dec 2004 10:16:48 -0600, "IMHO" wrote:

VZW, Sprint, Alltel, etc which started with CDMA can upgrade their
networks to CDMA2000 incrementally since the upgrades are compatable
with current equipment.

Converting from TDMA to GSM and then from GSM to WCMA requires new
equipment for each upgrade.


I know you're trying to make a point, but what is it?


TDMA, GSM & WCDMA are three different systems all requiring different
equipment.

CDMA thru CDMA2000 are compatable with each other - transparent to users.


All true, but other posts in this thread have indicated that a transition
from CDMA2000 to WCDMA would not be transparent but would require new
equipment just as would the transition from GSM.

--
David Streeter, "an internet god" -- Dave Barry
http://home.att.net/~dwstreeter
Remove the naughty bit from my address to reply
Expect a train on ANY track at ANY time.
"I've really been burning the midday oil." - Ronald Reagan

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does WCDMA have 32km limit like GSM? Greg Alexander GSM 3 September 26th 04 04:17 PM
WCDMA, what about the extended cellular band? N9WOS General 0 December 12th 03 07:21 PM
GSM or CDMA handoffs? About Dakota GSM 4 November 10th 03 01:28 AM
Single chipset supports all major cellular standards [email protected] GSM 32 September 30th 03 04:22 AM
"GSM to overtake CDMA in USA" Raghu Cingular 0 July 18th 03 05:48 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 Mobile-Forum.
The comments are property of their posters.