A mobile phone forum. Mobile-Forum

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Mobile-Forum forum » Airtime providers » Nextel
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Unlock: Motorola i2000



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 11th 04, 01:47 AM
Dean
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Unlock: Motorola i2000

I know this has been discussed before, but I wondered if with changing times
and software or hardware advances this has changed too.
Does anyone know if it is possible to unlock a former Nextel Motorola i2000?
My company has about 6 of these buggers, and it'll be a shame if we cant use
them when we travel internationally like in Europe & Africa.
Any info appreciated.

Dean.


  #2  
Old May 15th 04, 08:17 PM
Dean
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

So I just spoke with a professional phone unlocker guy who told me that
unlocking a Nextel phone would not really do any good as the phone would
still only work on a Nextel network..

He said that iDEN is not really GSM, and as such the phone would still not
work with a real GSM provider like in Europe or Africa.

If anyone has any information to the contrary, please let me know. I dont
have any reason to doubt the information I have, but I was really hoping I
could use those phones with a service other than Nextel.

Thanks.


Dean.

"Dean" wrote in message
news:[email protected]_s01...
: I know this has been discussed before, but I wondered if with changing
times
: and software or hardware advances this has changed too.
: Does anyone know if it is possible to unlock a former Nextel Motorola
i2000?
: My company has about 6 of these buggers, and it'll be a shame if we cant
use
: them when we travel internationally like in Europe & Africa.
: Any info appreciated.
:
: Dean.


  #3  
Old May 16th 04, 07:15 AM
rdmiller
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Dean wrote:
*So I just spoke with a professional phone unlocker guy who told m
that
unlocking a Nextel phone would not really do any good as the phon
would
still only work on a Nextel network..

He said that iDEN is not really GSM, and as such the phone woul
still not
work with a real GSM provider like in Europe or Africa.

If anyone has any information to the contrary, please let me know.
dont
have any reason to doubt the information I have, but I was reall
hoping I
could use those phones with a service other than Nextel.

Thanks.

*


Hey~ here's the deal with the i2000s. they will work on the iDE
network when your in the states...or in a place that has a contrac
with nextel to provide iDEN (telus, or nextel mexico, brazil, etc...
and unlocking the phone will allow you to connect to those networks
the gsm portion of the phone is a true gsm band that will work on th
european frequency which would include africa (i believe) but does no
work on the gsm band in the US. now, i have never unlocked the gs
portion (if there is a seperate portion??) for an i2000 bu
theoretically there should be one and unlocking it would allow for us
on a vodaphone, orange or t-mo or any prepaid service for that matte
for the euro gsm band! hope that helps

-
rdmille
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
http://cellphoneforums.netView this thread: http://cellphoneforums.net/t121320.htm

  #4  
Old May 18th 04, 07:21 PM
Who Cares!
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i2000 is GSM for International (not US) frequencies. It also has iDEN
but you can ignore that. Want to use it? Move to Europe.


"Dean" wrote in message
news[email protected]_s03...
| So I just spoke with a professional phone unlocker guy who told me
that
| unlocking a Nextel phone would not really do any good as the phone
would
| still only work on a Nextel network..
|
| He said that iDEN is not really GSM, and as such the phone would
still not
| work with a real GSM provider like in Europe or Africa.
|
| If anyone has any information to the contrary, please let me know. I
dont
| have any reason to doubt the information I have, but I was really
hoping I
| could use those phones with a service other than Nextel.
|
| Thanks.
|
|
| Dean.
|
| "Dean" wrote in message
| news:[email protected]_s01...
| : I know this has been discussed before, but I wondered if with
changing
| times
| : and software or hardware advances this has changed too.
| : Does anyone know if it is possible to unlock a former Nextel
Motorola
| i2000?
| : My company has about 6 of these buggers, and it'll be a shame if
we cant
| use
| : them when we travel internationally like in Europe & Africa.
| : Any info appreciated.
| :
| : Dean.
|
|


  #5  
Old May 19th 04, 05:12 AM
CWArnold
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Who Cares!" wrote in message
.net...
i2000 is GSM for International (not US) frequencies. It also has iDEN
but you can ignore that. Want to use it? Move to Europe.



it's only a $1.29 a minute! Why not just get a local provider if you're gona
move there?


  #6  
Old May 20th 04, 05:55 AM
Dean
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi RD,

Thanks for your input on this...so what exactly does the unlocking procedure
involve? Is this something I can do myself, or if I take it into a Nextel
place and tell them I have to travel international is this something they
would do?

I have seen many "cables" on European sites for unlocking, but I have no
clue what they are, or even where/how to begin looking for one that'll work.


Dean.

"rdmiller" wrote in message
: Hey~ here's the deal with the i2000s. they will work on the iDEN
: network when your in the states...or in a place that has a contract
: with nextel to provide iDEN (telus, or nextel mexico, brazil, etc...)
: and unlocking the phone will allow you to connect to those networks.
: the gsm portion of the phone is a true gsm band that will work on the
: european frequency which would include africa (i believe) but does not
: work on the gsm band in the US. now, i have never unlocked the gsm
: portion (if there is a seperate portion??) for an i2000 but
: theoretically there should be one and unlocking it would allow for use
: on a vodaphone, orange or t-mo or any prepaid service for that matter
: for the euro gsm band! hope that helps!
:
:
: --
: rdmiller


  #7  
Old May 20th 04, 06:53 AM
rdmiller
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Dean wrote:
*Hi RD,

Thanks for your input on this...so what exactly does the unlockin
procedure
involve? Is this something I can do myself, or if I take it into
Nextel
place and tell them I have to travel international is this somethin
they
would do?

I have seen many "cables" on European sites for unlocking, but I hav
no
clue what they are, or even where/how to begin looking for on
that'll work.


Dean.

*


hey what you will need is software....that you can get 'here
(http://tinyurl.com/336e9) and also a data cable for the condo
phone...you might be able to find that at a nextel retail store but i'
not sure....you might try ebay or even a store that sell
att/nextel/sprint/cingular etc. private message me when you have th
data cable...or if you have any questions!

nextel will not unlock it for you nor will any NRS have the capabilit
to do so...unless the regular a site like hofo. the condor series i
much easier to unlock than the falcons! you also won't find a
"unlocking clip" like you see with other phones...nextel is just to
different because it's iDEN...the i2000 and soon released i930 ar
really quite unique! any other questions just post...i'm more tha
willing to help, not sure if it will work like i said earlier but i'
interested to find out for myself. i'll look for my old i2000 in th
meantime

-
rdmille
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
http://cellphoneforums.netView this thread: http://cellphoneforums.net/t121320.htm

  #8  
Old May 27th 04, 01:23 AM
Stuart Friedman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I suppose you could use the brick on Southern Linx (sp?).

Stu

"Who Cares!" wrote in message
.net...
i2000 is GSM for International (not US) frequencies. It also has iDEN
but you can ignore that. Want to use it? Move to Europe.


"Dean" wrote in message
news[email protected]_s03...
| So I just spoke with a professional phone unlocker guy who told me
that
| unlocking a Nextel phone would not really do any good as the phone
would
| still only work on a Nextel network..
|
| He said that iDEN is not really GSM, and as such the phone would
still not
| work with a real GSM provider like in Europe or Africa.
|
| If anyone has any information to the contrary, please let me know. I
dont
| have any reason to doubt the information I have, but I was really
hoping I
| could use those phones with a service other than Nextel.
|
| Thanks.
|
|
| Dean.
|
| "Dean" wrote in message
| news:[email protected]_s01...
| : I know this has been discussed before, but I wondered if with
changing
| times
| : and software or hardware advances this has changed too.
| : Does anyone know if it is possible to unlock a former Nextel
Motorola
| i2000?
| : My company has about 6 of these buggers, and it'll be a shame if
we cant
| use
| : them when we travel internationally like in Europe & Africa.
| : Any info appreciated.
| :
| : Dean.
|
|





  #9  
Old November 14th 11, 04:26 PM
sahaya sahaya is offline
Senior Member
 
First recorded activity by MobileForum: Feb 2011
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean View Post
I know this has been discussed before, but I wondered if with changing times
and software or hardware advances this has changed too.
Does anyone know if it is possible to unlock a former Nextel Motorola i2000?
My company has about 6 of these buggers, and it'll be a shame if we cant use
them when we travel internationally like in Europe & Africa.
Any info appreciated.

Dean.
hi

there are many ways to unlock your phone. if you want to unlock your phone from your service provider there are several methods. you can try through codes or through any softwares or hardwares or remote unlock method. i would suggest codes to unlock the phone. codes can be got from your service provider itself. if your provider fails you to provide the codes you can try online providers like Unlocking4U.com
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motorola Unlock - Unlock Motorola V600, Motorola MPX200 Unlock, Motorola Razr V3 Unlock, Motorola V505 Unlocking Motounlock GSM 2 August 16th 11 10:24 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2017 Mobile-Forum.
The comments are property of their posters.