A mobile phone forum. Mobile-Forum

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Mobile-Forum forum » Airtime providers » Cingular
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

cingular with unlocked phones



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 25th 06, 06:24 PM posted to alt.cellular.cingular
rulerz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default cingular with unlocked phones

Hi,
Is anybody using a cingular sim with an unlocked phone? My cingular sim
is not working in my unlocked moto v300 flip phone. Does anyone have
any idea why it is not working?
Please advise

  #2  
Old September 25th 06, 07:06 PM posted to alt.cellular.cingular
marka2k
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default cingular with unlocked phones

As long as the phone is SIM unlocked and works on the correct frequencies
(850/1900) you should be good to go. Does it not just work or are you
getting an error?



"rulerz" wrote in message
ups.com...
Hi,
Is anybody using a cingular sim with an unlocked phone? My cingular sim
is not working in my unlocked moto v300 flip phone. Does anyone have
any idea why it is not working?
Please advise



  #3  
Old September 25th 06, 09:23 PM posted to alt.cellular.cingular
rulerz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default cingular with unlocked phones

I tried changing the SIM. But it still does not work. The phone
switches on perfectly except for the network bars. The cingular store
person said it was a problem with cingular SIMs and unlocked phones.

marka2k wrote:
As long as the phone is SIM unlocked and works on the correct frequencies
(850/1900) you should be good to go. Does it not just work or are you
getting an error?



"rulerz" wrote in message
ups.com...
Hi,
Is anybody using a cingular sim with an unlocked phone? My cingular sim
is not working in my unlocked moto v300 flip phone. Does anyone have
any idea why it is not working?
Please advise


  #4  
Old September 25th 06, 09:27 PM posted to alt.cellular.cingular
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default cingular with unlocked phones

rulerz wrote:
Hi,
Is anybody using a cingular sim with an unlocked phone? My cingular sim
is not working in my unlocked moto v300 flip phone. Does anyone have
any idea why it is not working?
Please advise


Where did this unlocked phone come from?
Rumor states that a Cingular Go Phone IMEI is entered in a database that
prevents it from being used with the normal Cingular plans.

--
---
Clarence A Dold - Hidden Valley Lake, CA, USA GPS: 38.8,-122.5
  #5  
Old September 26th 06, 12:59 AM posted to alt.cellular.cingular
Dennis Ferguson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,451
Default cingular with unlocked phones

On 2006-09-25, rulerz wrote:
I tried changing the SIM. But it still does not work. The phone
switches on perfectly except for the network bars. The cingular store
person said it was a problem with cingular SIMs and unlocked phones.

marka2k wrote:
As long as the phone is SIM unlocked and works on the correct frequencies
(850/1900) you should be good to go. Does it not just work or are you
getting an error?


Again, are you sure the phone supports 850 MHz? The V300 I
looked at (overseas) was a 900/1800/1900 MHz triband phone. If
the phone doesn't support 850 MHz it won't work with Cingular in
a lot of places.

Depending on the phone software you might be able to check

Menu - Settings - Network - Network Setup - Band

to see the bands supported. If there's no 850 MHz in there you
may be out of luck.

Dennis Ferguson
  #6  
Old September 26th 06, 01:17 AM posted to alt.cellular.cingular
Cavity Search
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 38
Default cingular with unlocked phones


"rulerz" wrote in message
ups.com...
I tried changing the SIM. But it still does not work. The phone
switches on perfectly except for the network bars. The cingular store
person said it was a problem with cingular SIMs and unlocked phones.


Cingular SIM cards work just fine in unlocked phones, as long as:

- The phone is a GSM phone

Most phones that take a SIM are GSM phones, but Nextel and possibly others
take SIM's and don't work on Cingular's (or T Mobile's) GSM network.

- The phone works on Cingular's frequencies (850 and/or 1900)

Most phones do 1900, but many don't do 850, so if you have one of these, and
there's no 1900 tower around, you are out of luck.

- The phone is set up properly

You may have to set up the phone to work with the frequencies you need.
Poke around in the Settings menu.

- The phone is either a Cingular locked phone or unlocked properly

Whomever furnished you the phone may be mistaken or lying when they said it
was unlocked. Also, if software is needed to unlock the phone (as opposed
to a code you enter) it must be done properly, or the phone will be
unusable.

- The phone is compatible with the SIM

Some older phones don't like Cingular's new SIM cards. Some won't work at
all, others will do wierd things, while still others work just fine.

- The phone actually works

Some phones are broke. With Motorola phones, this can be a very common
issue. I just sold a V400 to a friend of mine at work. It looked fine, but
you can't hear anybody. (he just wanted it for parts) This is actually a
common problem with the V300 and V400 models, and possibly more.

If it's a T Mobile phone, try to find someone with a T Mobile account, and
try their SIM. If it was never locked, it may have settings not mentioned
in the manual.

My guess is it's either still locked to T Mobile, or broken. My old V400
'worked' with Cingular's new SIM (It got a signal, but was still broken), so
yours should as well. You have a quadband phone, so frequencies shouldn't
be an issue.

Make sure your SIM card and contacts on the phone are clean (a pencil eraser
can work wonders), and the SIM card is well seated.

Personally, I'd suggest you move on to another brand of unlocked phone.
Motorola's are not dependable.

CS

marka2k wrote:
As long as the phone is SIM unlocked and works on the correct frequencies
(850/1900) you should be good to go. Does it not just work or are you
getting an error?



"rulerz" wrote in message
ups.com...
Hi,
Is anybody using a cingular sim with an unlocked phone? My cingular sim
is not working in my unlocked moto v300 flip phone. Does anyone have
any idea why it is not working?
Please advise




  #7  
Old September 26th 06, 05:30 PM posted to alt.cellular.cingular
rulerz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default cingular with unlocked phones

Well...the thing is it worked fine before with another cingular sim
which my friend used. IT was about 4 months back. But now it does not
work with a cingular sim.

Cavity Search wrote:
"rulerz" wrote in message
ups.com...
I tried changing the SIM. But it still does not work. The phone
switches on perfectly except for the network bars. The cingular store
person said it was a problem with cingular SIMs and unlocked phones.


Cingular SIM cards work just fine in unlocked phones, as long as:

- The phone is a GSM phone

Most phones that take a SIM are GSM phones, but Nextel and possibly others
take SIM's and don't work on Cingular's (or T Mobile's) GSM network.

- The phone works on Cingular's frequencies (850 and/or 1900)

Most phones do 1900, but many don't do 850, so if you have one of these, and
there's no 1900 tower around, you are out of luck.

- The phone is set up properly

You may have to set up the phone to work with the frequencies you need.
Poke around in the Settings menu.

- The phone is either a Cingular locked phone or unlocked properly

Whomever furnished you the phone may be mistaken or lying when they said it
was unlocked. Also, if software is needed to unlock the phone (as opposed
to a code you enter) it must be done properly, or the phone will be
unusable.

- The phone is compatible with the SIM

Some older phones don't like Cingular's new SIM cards. Some won't work at
all, others will do wierd things, while still others work just fine.

- The phone actually works

Some phones are broke. With Motorola phones, this can be a very common
issue. I just sold a V400 to a friend of mine at work. It looked fine, but
you can't hear anybody. (he just wanted it for parts) This is actually a
common problem with the V300 and V400 models, and possibly more.

If it's a T Mobile phone, try to find someone with a T Mobile account, and
try their SIM. If it was never locked, it may have settings not mentioned
in the manual.

My guess is it's either still locked to T Mobile, or broken. My old V400
'worked' with Cingular's new SIM (It got a signal, but was still broken), so
yours should as well. You have a quadband phone, so frequencies shouldn't
be an issue.

Make sure your SIM card and contacts on the phone are clean (a pencil eraser
can work wonders), and the SIM card is well seated.

Personally, I'd suggest you move on to another brand of unlocked phone.
Motorola's are not dependable.

CS

marka2k wrote:
As long as the phone is SIM unlocked and works on the correct frequencies
(850/1900) you should be good to go. Does it not just work or are you
getting an error?



"rulerz" wrote in message
ups.com...
Hi,
Is anybody using a cingular sim with an unlocked phone? My cingular sim
is not working in my unlocked moto v300 flip phone. Does anyone have
any idea why it is not working?
Please advise



  #8  
Old September 27th 06, 02:03 AM posted to alt.cellular.cingular
Ann
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 62
Default cingular with unlocked phones

It seems this should have been mentioned in the original posting. It sounds
like your phone may be broken to me.

"rulerz" wrote in message
oups.com...
Well...the thing is it worked fine before with another cingular sim
which my friend used. IT was about 4 months back. But now it does not
work with a cingular sim.

Cavity Search wrote:
"rulerz" wrote in message
ups.com...
I tried changing the SIM. But it still does not work. The phone
switches on perfectly except for the network bars. The cingular store
person said it was a problem with cingular SIMs and unlocked phones.


Cingular SIM cards work just fine in unlocked phones, as long as:

- The phone is a GSM phone

Most phones that take a SIM are GSM phones, but Nextel and possibly
others
take SIM's and don't work on Cingular's (or T Mobile's) GSM network.

- The phone works on Cingular's frequencies (850 and/or 1900)

Most phones do 1900, but many don't do 850, so if you have one of these,
and
there's no 1900 tower around, you are out of luck.

- The phone is set up properly

You may have to set up the phone to work with the frequencies you need.
Poke around in the Settings menu.

- The phone is either a Cingular locked phone or unlocked properly

Whomever furnished you the phone may be mistaken or lying when they said
it
was unlocked. Also, if software is needed to unlock the phone (as
opposed
to a code you enter) it must be done properly, or the phone will be
unusable.

- The phone is compatible with the SIM

Some older phones don't like Cingular's new SIM cards. Some won't work
at
all, others will do wierd things, while still others work just fine.

- The phone actually works

Some phones are broke. With Motorola phones, this can be a very common
issue. I just sold a V400 to a friend of mine at work. It looked fine,
but
you can't hear anybody. (he just wanted it for parts) This is actually
a
common problem with the V300 and V400 models, and possibly more.

If it's a T Mobile phone, try to find someone with a T Mobile account,
and
try their SIM. If it was never locked, it may have settings not
mentioned
in the manual.

My guess is it's either still locked to T Mobile, or broken. My old V400
'worked' with Cingular's new SIM (It got a signal, but was still broken),
so
yours should as well. You have a quadband phone, so frequencies
shouldn't
be an issue.

Make sure your SIM card and contacts on the phone are clean (a pencil
eraser
can work wonders), and the SIM card is well seated.

Personally, I'd suggest you move on to another brand of unlocked phone.
Motorola's are not dependable.

CS

marka2k wrote:
As long as the phone is SIM unlocked and works on the correct
frequencies
(850/1900) you should be good to go. Does it not just work or are you
getting an error?



"rulerz" wrote in message
ups.com...
Hi,
Is anybody using a cingular sim with an unlocked phone? My cingular
sim
is not working in my unlocked moto v300 flip phone. Does anyone have
any idea why it is not working?
Please advise





  #9  
Old September 27th 06, 05:55 PM posted to alt.cellular.cingular
rulerz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default cingular with unlocked phones

Thanks for the replies guys.
But the phone does work with a T-mobile sim.

Ann wrote:
It seems this should have been mentioned in the original posting. It sounds
like your phone may be broken to me.

"rulerz" wrote in message
oups.com...
Well...the thing is it worked fine before with another cingular sim
which my friend used. IT was about 4 months back. But now it does not
work with a cingular sim.

Cavity Search wrote:
"rulerz" wrote in message
ups.com...
I tried changing the SIM. But it still does not work. The phone
switches on perfectly except for the network bars. The cingular store
person said it was a problem with cingular SIMs and unlocked phones.

Cingular SIM cards work just fine in unlocked phones, as long as:

- The phone is a GSM phone

Most phones that take a SIM are GSM phones, but Nextel and possibly
others
take SIM's and don't work on Cingular's (or T Mobile's) GSM network.

- The phone works on Cingular's frequencies (850 and/or 1900)

Most phones do 1900, but many don't do 850, so if you have one of these,
and
there's no 1900 tower around, you are out of luck.

- The phone is set up properly

You may have to set up the phone to work with the frequencies you need.
Poke around in the Settings menu.

- The phone is either a Cingular locked phone or unlocked properly

Whomever furnished you the phone may be mistaken or lying when they said
it
was unlocked. Also, if software is needed to unlock the phone (as
opposed
to a code you enter) it must be done properly, or the phone will be
unusable.

- The phone is compatible with the SIM

Some older phones don't like Cingular's new SIM cards. Some won't work
at
all, others will do wierd things, while still others work just fine.

- The phone actually works

Some phones are broke. With Motorola phones, this can be a very common
issue. I just sold a V400 to a friend of mine at work. It looked fine,
but
you can't hear anybody. (he just wanted it for parts) This is actually
a
common problem with the V300 and V400 models, and possibly more.

If it's a T Mobile phone, try to find someone with a T Mobile account,
and
try their SIM. If it was never locked, it may have settings not
mentioned
in the manual.

My guess is it's either still locked to T Mobile, or broken. My old V400
'worked' with Cingular's new SIM (It got a signal, but was still broken),
so
yours should as well. You have a quadband phone, so frequencies
shouldn't
be an issue.

Make sure your SIM card and contacts on the phone are clean (a pencil
eraser
can work wonders), and the SIM card is well seated.

Personally, I'd suggest you move on to another brand of unlocked phone.
Motorola's are not dependable.

CS

marka2k wrote:
As long as the phone is SIM unlocked and works on the correct
frequencies
(850/1900) you should be good to go. Does it not just work or are you
getting an error?



"rulerz" wrote in message
ups.com...
Hi,
Is anybody using a cingular sim with an unlocked phone? My cingular
sim
is not working in my unlocked moto v300 flip phone. Does anyone have
any idea why it is not working?
Please advise




  #10  
Old September 27th 06, 10:25 PM posted to alt.cellular.cingular
bamp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 68
Default cingular with unlocked phones


"rulerz" wrote in message
oups.com...
Thanks for the replies guys.
But the phone does work with a T-mobile sim.


TMob is 1900, Cingular is changing a lot of their sites to 850, betcha
that's your problem.
...
bamp



Ann wrote:
It seems this should have been mentioned in the original posting. It
sounds
like your phone may be broken to me.

"rulerz" wrote in message
oups.com...
Well...the thing is it worked fine before with another cingular sim
which my friend used. IT was about 4 months back. But now it does not
work with a cingular sim.

Cavity Search wrote:
"rulerz" wrote in message
ups.com...
I tried changing the SIM. But it still does not work. The phone
switches on perfectly except for the network bars. The cingular
store
person said it was a problem with cingular SIMs and unlocked phones.

Cingular SIM cards work just fine in unlocked phones, as long as:

- The phone is a GSM phone

Most phones that take a SIM are GSM phones, but Nextel and possibly
others
take SIM's and don't work on Cingular's (or T Mobile's) GSM network.

- The phone works on Cingular's frequencies (850 and/or 1900)

Most phones do 1900, but many don't do 850, so if you have one of
these,
and
there's no 1900 tower around, you are out of luck.

- The phone is set up properly

You may have to set up the phone to work with the frequencies you
need.
Poke around in the Settings menu.

- The phone is either a Cingular locked phone or unlocked properly

Whomever furnished you the phone may be mistaken or lying when they
said
it
was unlocked. Also, if software is needed to unlock the phone (as
opposed
to a code you enter) it must be done properly, or the phone will be
unusable.

- The phone is compatible with the SIM

Some older phones don't like Cingular's new SIM cards. Some won't
work
at
all, others will do wierd things, while still others work just fine.

- The phone actually works

Some phones are broke. With Motorola phones, this can be a very
common
issue. I just sold a V400 to a friend of mine at work. It looked
fine,
but
you can't hear anybody. (he just wanted it for parts) This is
actually
a
common problem with the V300 and V400 models, and possibly more.

If it's a T Mobile phone, try to find someone with a T Mobile account,
and
try their SIM. If it was never locked, it may have settings not
mentioned
in the manual.

My guess is it's either still locked to T Mobile, or broken. My old
V400
'worked' with Cingular's new SIM (It got a signal, but was still
broken),
so
yours should as well. You have a quadband phone, so frequencies
shouldn't
be an issue.

Make sure your SIM card and contacts on the phone are clean (a pencil
eraser
can work wonders), and the SIM card is well seated.

Personally, I'd suggest you move on to another brand of unlocked
phone.
Motorola's are not dependable.

CS

marka2k wrote:
As long as the phone is SIM unlocked and works on the correct
frequencies
(850/1900) you should be good to go. Does it not just work or are
you
getting an error?



"rulerz" wrote in message
ups.com...
Hi,
Is anybody using a cingular sim with an unlocked phone? My
cingular
sim
is not working in my unlocked moto v300 flip phone. Does anyone
have
any idea why it is not working?
Please advise








 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FAQ: Don't ATTWS and Cingular subscribers now have the same coverage? John Navas AT&T Wireless 24 October 16th 05 04:30 PM
"unlocked" Ebay GSM phones? mcdgi GSM 0 February 3rd 04 02:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2017 Mobile-Forum.
The comments are property of their posters.