A mobile phone forum. Mobile-Forum

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Mobile-Forum forum » Airtime providers » ALLTEL
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Alltel sucks



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old February 7th 09, 05:16 AM posted to alt.cellular.alltel
Larry
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9,696
Default Alltel sucks

Claude Sutton wrote in
:

I will say that the people I talked to were/are very capable. I was
dreading the call because last year the people I talked to did not
impress me at all until I got as far as the actual engineers or
software people. I did find them to be first rate.


Claude, did that number I emailed you....were they the people that helped
you?

Larry in Charleston.
  #12  
Old February 8th 09, 05:10 AM posted to alt.cellular.alltel
Claude Sutton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default Alltel sucks

On 2009-02-07, Larry wrote:
Claude Sutton wrote in
:

I will say that the people I talked to were/are very capable. I was
dreading the call because last year the people I talked to did not
impress me at all until I got as far as the actual engineers or
software people. I did find them to be first rate.


Claude, did that number I emailed you....were they the people that helped
you?

Larry in Charleston.



No. That turned out to be someone's mailbox. All I got was an instruction to
leave a message.

I used the public 800 number.

CSSJR

--
If we do not wish to lose our freedom, we must learn to tolerate our
neighbor's right to freedom even though he might express that freedom
in a manner we consider to be eccentric.

  #13  
Old February 11th 09, 02:44 AM posted to alt.cellular.alltel
Claude Sutton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default Alltel sucks

On 2009-02-08, Claude Sutton wrote:
On 2009-02-07, Larry wrote:
Claude Sutton wrote in
:

I will say that the people I talked to were/are very capable. I was
dreading the call because last year the people I talked to did not
impress me at all until I got as far as the actual engineers or
software people. I did find them to be first rate.


Claude, did that number I emailed you....were they the people that helped
you?

Larry in Charleston.



No. That turned out to be someone's mailbox. All I got was an instruction to
leave a message.

I used the public 800 number.

CSSJR


Hey guys, I need some help.

I replied to a poster Monday evening who wanted to know what to expect from
Verizon with a glowing description of how great it is.

I went to dinner right after that post and came back to my machine after dinner
and the connection was crap and has been ever since.

Since Monday night, I doubt that I have had a connection that lasted more than 5
minutes until this evening, which is another story I will get into in a minute.

I called tech support this evening and they asked me if I had looked at my
system to see if the PRL had been changed. I looked and sure enough, it had
not.

it is 40029 and it is supposed to be 40042 or 43.

OK, so far so good. Now we know why the connection went to crap. Or do we?

I have never learned how to, if there is a way, to read the vital statistics from
linux. The only way I know to read PRL and other stuff is to put the card in a
windoze machine, which I did before I called tech.

Now this is the problem. As you know, it always takes a half hour to go through
all of the hoops. The connection never missed a beat for the entire time it was
in the windoze machine.

When we hung up, I put the card back in my router which is also a KYO product
and immediately it started dropping connections again.

Now everything worked fine from February 2008 until the middle of last month,
but the question now is: Is there something in my machine causing the problem?

I bought the card, a KYO KPC 650 July 5, 2006. Everyone so far has said that
the card is all I need, that I do not need to buy a new card.

But the point is that when I think I am done with a problem, my mind wipes it
out and goes on to the next project. That is a real problem because it is hard
as hell to remember what I did other than put my card in a windows machine to
get it validated and then put it in my linux machine.

So my question is: Do I need a new card? And do I need to do something to
update my system?

This is a pain.

Help would be appreciated.

CSSJR
--
If we do not wish to lose our freedom, we must learn to tolerate our
neighbor's right to freedom even though he might express that freedom
in a manner we consider to be eccentric.

  #14  
Old June 23rd 11, 09:46 AM
malathy malathy is offline
Senior Member
 
First recorded activity by MobileForum: May 2011
Posts: 115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Claude Sutton View Post
On 2009-02-05, GeorgeB wrote:


Where you are, it is my OPINION that Alltel was, statistically on
average, slightly better. As in all things, specifics make a huge
difference ... a particular selection of locations can have almost
anyone better. Alltel held licenses in much more (by area) of NC than
Verizon, but Verizon's native coverage of Asheville, Raleigh,
Charlotte, and Greensboro areas likely made the customer base more
balanced.

But it's moot ... they are now one and the same company. Eventually
the PRLs will (opinion, not fact) will be the same. It is possible
that a Verizon tower will have better coverage than an Alltel tower,
but after the absorption, I SUSPECT there to be no difference.

George



I am really as much concerned with the billing practices as anything. Alltel
has a really good deal, or they did when I signed up and they are still honoring
it.

I finally had time to get in touch with support. They determined that I need an
updated PRL.

The one I had routed first to Alltel's towers and then if no go, to Sprint
towers.

Verizon now has a setup where an Alltel user is routed first to Alltel, second
to Verizon and if no go, then to Sprint.

So I was switched to a PRL that would try a connection in that order.

I will report after a reasonable time whether it works as advertised.

I will say that the people I talked to were/are very capable. I was dreading
the call because last year the people I talked to did not impress me at all
until I got as far as the actual engineers or software people. I did find them
to be first rate.

Thanks for the info and the help.

CSSJR

--
If we do not wish to lose our freedom, we must learn to tolerate our
neighbor's right to freedom even though he might express that freedom
in a manner we consider to be eccentric.
Great one....nice...
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alltel Broadband Sucks Claude S. Sutton, Jr ALLTEL 1 March 5th 08 12:29 AM
Alltel Cellular Broadband Sucks Claude S. Sutton, Jr ALLTEL 0 February 29th 08 04:51 AM
Alltel BroadBand Wireless Sucks Claude S. Sutton, Jr General 0 February 29th 08 04:39 AM
Alltel Broad Band Internet Service SUCKS Claude S. Sutton, Jr ALLTEL 16 February 27th 08 02:00 AM
Alltel Customer Service Sucks Doesn't Matter ALLTEL 27 September 18th 06 09:04 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2017 Mobile-Forum.
The comments are property of their posters.