A mobile phone forum. Mobile-Forum

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Mobile-Forum forum » Handset manufacturers » Ericsson
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Possible to unlock K600i to use on 3 network (like K608i)?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 30th 05, 06:40 PM
iceman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Possible to unlock K600i to use on 3 network (like K608i)?

Hi,

A friend has offered me his K600i which is on Orange.

I'd like to get it unlocked so that I can use it with my 3 tariff.

My question is this - can this be done? - would an unlocked K600i work on
the 3 network?

3 offer an SE K608i handset - does anyone know if this is identical to the
K600i?

Any advice much appreciated.

Cheers

iceman


  #2  
Old August 30th 05, 07:18 PM
iceman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks very much for your swift response Brian.

So it really is that simple - get an Orange SE unlocked, put my 3 Sim in,
and it'll work. Excellent.

I thought that unlocking was a bit illegal? You're saying that if my mate
phones Orange, just asks them to unlock it (maybe say he's got another
network sim he wants to use sometimes?) that they'll do that without
question?

Have you seen 600s unlocked and being compatible on 3, or is it just that
phones are getting more cross-network compatible these days?

Cheers again

iceman

"Brian Morrison" wrote in message
...
iceman wrote:
Hi,

A friend has offered me his K600i which is on Orange.

I'd like to get it unlocked so that I can use it with my 3 tariff.

My question is this - can this be done? - would an unlocked K600i work on
the 3 network?


Yes and yes. Your friend could get Orange to unlock it for 20 quid, they
no longer want the remainder of the contract paid off.

3rd parties can also unlock SE K series phones, ask your local
independents or look about on the web.


3 offer an SE K608i handset - does anyone know if this is identical to
the K600i?


Except for the casing it is effectively identical, as is the V600i on
Vodafone.

--

Brian Morrison

please observe reply-to address



  #3  
Old August 30th 05, 07:53 PM
iceman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks very much indeed for your in-depth advice Brian.

Based on this advice, I'll be taking up his offer.

On a further note, what about the debranding services you see advertised -
whereby it appears the software takes off all network-specific
functionality, leaving the handset with plain generic software. Is
debranding illegal, or contrary to T&Cs?

I'd thought that if I DID take the 600 off him, I'd take the orange stuff
off, but if it's got the 2.5G lock facility, maybe I'd leave it.

iceman

"Brian Morrison" wrote in message
et.uk...
iceman wrote:
Thanks very much for your swift response Brian.

So it really is that simple - get an Orange SE unlocked, put my 3 Sim in,
and it'll work. Excellent.


It is indeed.


I thought that unlocking was a bit illegal? You're saying that if my
mate phones Orange, just asks them to unlock it (maybe say he's got
another network sim he wants to use sometimes?) that they'll do that
without question?


Yes, no problem. Remove SP locks (subsidy protection) is perfectly legal
because the phone is the customer's property anyway. The only thing that
is illegal is changing the IMEI to *unblock* a stolen phone that has been
added to the networks' IMEI blacklist, this is punishable by up to 5 years
imprisonment.


Have you seen 600s unlocked and being compatible on 3, or is it just that
phones are getting more cross-network compatible these days?


They all have to be type approved to meet either the GSM of 3GPP specs, so
they are pretty compatible. There may be odd things that are set up
differently on each network, but in the main they cause little trouble.

Since 3 is not a PCN network like Orange and T-Mobile, there really is
very little that will be a problem.

You might even have an advantage in that the network mode (dual mode/GSM
only) will be controllable from the menus on a non-3 phone, so if you are
in dodgy coverage from 3's UMTS (3G) network you can lock to 2.5G to
prevent calls dropping when leaving 3's own coverage and incoming calls
maybe going to voicemail when you think you're in coverage. Just don't do
this all the time as 3 could have you for breaking Ts & Cs, apparently O2
really sting them for calls handled by O2's own network.

--

Brian Morrison

please observe reply-to address



  #4  
Old September 15th 14, 11:25 AM
mahesw mahesw is offline
Senior Member
 
First recorded activity by MobileForum: Jun 2011
Posts: 306
Default

HI you can easily get your Sony ericsson k600i mobile unlocked from orange network provider using codes .You can purchase code from sites like ClassicUnlocking.com for affordable cost .Sure after unlocking your phone you can freely use it with 3 or any other GSM sim ...
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motorola Unlock - Unlock Motorola V600, Motorola MPX200 Unlock, Motorola Razr V3 Unlock, Motorola V505 Unlocking Motounlock GSM 2 August 16th 11 10:24 AM
Re-activating a SIM card--what a pain! MS Voicestream GSM 62 May 23rd 05 10:27 PM
Unlock VTech A700 to work on any network. axe tax Fido 0 August 5th 03 09:54 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2017 Mobile-Forum.
The comments are property of their posters.